Local Governments

North Vancouver is made up of two separate municipalities: the City of North Vancouver and the District of North Vancouver. It is also home to two First Nations People: Squamish Nation  and Tsleil-Waututh Nation.

City of North Vancouver

The City of North Vancouver is located on the north shore of the Burrard Inlet, directly across from Vancouver. This waterfront municipality is considered the urban core of North Vancouver. It isdensely populated and features a number of residential high-rise buildings. Areas include Lower Lonsdale, Central Lonsdale, Moodyville, and Grand Boulevard.

North Vancouver District

The District of North Vancouver surrounds the City of North Vancouver on three sides. Its boundaries are Indian Arm to the east, Capilano River to the west, the Coast Mountains to the north, and the Burrard Inlet to the south. Although there is no true urban core, the District features a variety of commercial neighbourhood town centres including Edgemont Village , Upper Lonsdale, Lynn Valley, Seymour, and Deep Cove.

First Nations

The first people to call North Vancouver home are the peoples of the Squamish Nation and the Tsleil-Waututh Nation.  Both nations are self-governed, and have participated in the development of the Official Community Plans for the City and the District of North Vancouver. North Vancouver actively supports and celebrates a diversity of cultural backgrounds, including recognizing the traditions of both the Squamish Nation and the Tsleil-Waututh Nation.


Photo Credit: City of North Vancouver